Poppy Awakening

DSCF3880 (640x480) (562x398)

 

When I awoke this morning
I did so with a smile
Last night I walked again with him
Along the poppy mile

We talked about how things were then
And how things were now
I did not cry at all last night
I am not crying now

I feel at peace and rested
But I really don’t know how
I can feel his loving hand
Soothing my poor brow

As I lie here thinking
A voice inside my head
Tells me to go make breakfast
The children must be fed

Today they seem more rested
Not so stressed anymore
We ate our meal together
Just like we did before

Then off to school they went
Leaving me behind
To tidy up the house again
I know I will be fine

To make the beds a new I went
And guess what I did see
From upon our pillows
A poppy stared at me

I gently touched each flower
And then I felt his hand
He had never left us
Now I understand

So this coming Sunday
We will all be there
Wearing our red poppies
Proud just like before

(c) C.A. Bosc

Leave a comment